Mount Vernon Bound

24 07 2008

Our trip across country began Monday night with an overnight stop in Yuma, Arizona. As I awoke Tuesday morning and threw open the curtains at the hotel I saw nothing but brown dirt for as far as the eye could see. If you’ve never been there it’s one of the hottest places on the planet.

This morning I’m sitting in a hotel room in El Paso, Texas. If you’ve ever been here you know it’s a very dry and desolate place. As I sit here I’m looking out the window at miles and miles of brown dirt and trying to find the beauty in it all. I understand that beauty is in the eye of the beholder but my eyes just aren’t beholding beauty in this place.

Fall LeavesThe interesting thing is that in every place we’ve ever lived we’ve found things that were absolutely beautiful. In San Diego the beaches were amazing and at night we would come home, sit outside and look at the most beautiful moon and star lit sky. In Kansas it was the rabbit in the back yard that had babies for two consecutive springs. It was a blast watching bunnies run everywhere in the back yard. In Nashville the fall season with the changing of the leaves was awesome.

The leaves took on every color imaginable. In Portland it was the mountains covered with enormous trees and snow.

As we arrived in Mount Vernon in May it was the green fields and trees that caught my attention. I realize that the trees and fields won’t always be green but I’m confident that when the seasons change we’ll find beauty in something new. I’m sure the fall with the change of colors will be gorgeous. As a family we’re excited to see the first snow. It’s been a long time since we’ve seen it snow.

Beauty is an interesting thing. I know that Ecclesiastes tells me “God makes everything beautiful it its time.” I guess when it comes to some places it seems to take a little more time than others. Whatever the case is I’m confident there’s some beauty to be found in it all. For now I’m hoping the beauty is a little easier to
find at the next stop.

Actions

Information

9 responses

24 07 2008
Missy/Louey McLane

Hey Scott and Katie!

I know Dr. Martin already told you I was here, but I am so excited to see you guys coming to MVNU! It’s true. There is always something beautiful to reflect the glory of God. If there is nothing else, there are his people serving and relying on him. I hope you guys have a safe trip, and please let me know if there is anything I can do for you. I won’t be around for a few weeks (I’m working for admissions, and I’m pretty busy), but I’ll do whatever I can. Hope to see you soon!

Missy McLane (from college church in Olathe)

24 07 2008
Julie

Your progress across the country reminds me of a crazy trip to Columbus, OH, we took when we were in our mid-20’s. We had very limited vacation time so we figured we’d drive straight through without stopping, taking turns driving and taking No-Doz if necessary. We did great on the way across to OH, but we lost it in New Mexico on the way back to San Diego. Strung out on No-Doz and fatigue, arguing, feeling sick we pulled over at a truck stop and slept for two hours.

Where’s the beauty in this? We learned how stupid we were and never did that again. Learning from experience is a beautiful thing.

24 07 2008
Brian Miller

Julie: You are a person of great wisdom. I can tell.

I learned a similar lesson during my first semester here during the final exam for General Chemistry I. I had stayed up too late the night before, so to avoid falling asleep during the exam I taped a sewing needle to my mechanical pencil. I figured if I ever started to get too tired, I’d just poke myself. What I didn’t realize until too late was that I had taped the pin in such a way that the point was nearly even with the end of the pencil. Thus, when I went to push out some new lead during the test, I jabbed my finger and practically jumped out of my seat. I proceeded to forget about this every time; by the end of the test I had started to bleed. Call it what you want (I’d probably call it masochism), I stayed awake during the whole test :)

And although I keep it in my arsenal of staying-awake techniques, I have not used it since, nor would I recommend it to anyone.

That said, perhaps a comment on Scott’s blog is in order….

I too have been blessed to live in beautiful places. Mount Vernon is no different in that respect, I assure you. Central Ohio does indeed have a distinct beauty that locals sometimes miss – but a beauty that reveals itself to the observant eye.

We had just moved to northern Ohio when I started my senior year. I still remember early one particular September morning… the dense fog just beginning to lift off of the corn fields around our house. Gorgeous.

Also, the Kokosing river trail or the Walmart parking lot (yes!) for a sunset.

~Brian

24 07 2008
Julie

Brian, that’s too funny. I’m sure it ties in with Scott’s blog because, you know, every now and then one needs help staying awake during chapel. Just bring band-aids.

24 07 2008
Jason Bean

Welcome to Mount Vernon. I’m sure you’ll fall in love with the place as I did when I was a student (’92-’96). I remember fondly the times driving back on campus from various breaks and summers. As soon as I could see the steeple of the chapel come into view driving through the neighborhoods I felt at home, after just leaving “home” hours before in the car. I’m hoping to make it back to campus again this fall for Homecoming after a long hiatus. Hopefully I’ll have the chance to run into you and shake your hand to welcome you location of some of the best memories of my life.

5 08 2008
Brian Miller

Maybe we should be putting band-aids alongside those response cards that are in the back of the pews….

19 08 2010
ONLINEMARKETINGEXPERTS

This was a fantastic time in my life, and I miss it so.

I’m so glad everyone is here to carry on the memory.

25 08 2010
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS

this was also fantastic and i love it

25 08 2010
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS

really?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

